Tag Archives: subscription box review

Julep Maven March 2017 Review

Julep Maven March 2017 Review. Subscription box review. Photo copyright 2017 Sugarglow Blog: makeup, beauty, outfits, style, fashion, DIY, planning and more. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

When I first discovered subscription boxes a few years ago, I instantly became obsessed — I had to have them all. I subscribed to as many as I could and I stayed subscribed to a bunch of them for awhile.

Then, over the last year or so, I decided that I really didn’t need all of these subscriptions anymore; I was receiving a LOT of repeat products, and I just couldn’t justify spending all this money every month for subscription boxes that I really didn’t have much use for. So I suspended or completely cancelled many of my subscriptions, but there were a few that I absolutely loved and needed to keep … Julep Maven was one of the keepers.

Julep Maven March 2017 Review. Subscription box review. Photo copyright 2017 Sugarglow Blog: makeup, beauty, outfits, style, fashion, DIY, planning and more. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

Julep Maven was one of the first subscription boxes I ever received, and I’ve been with the service now pretty much since it began. Julep is constantly releasing new nail colors and new beauty products, so I don’t have to worry about always getting duplicate items like I was with a lot of the other beauty boxes.

I absolutely love many of Julep’s beauty products and I’m always super excited to see the new collection revealed on the 20th of every month. I also love the fact that Julep gives you the freedom of being able to skip any month you don’t want. This weighed in heavily when I was deciding which subscription boxes to keep and which ones to get rid of.

Julep Mighty Nail and Cuticle Serum review. Julep Maven March 2017 Review. Subscription box review. Photo copyright 2017 Sugarglow Blog: makeup, beauty, outfits, style, fashion, DIY, planning and more. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

Julep Mighty Nail and Cuticle Serum, $28 ($22.40 Maven price)

For the month of March, Julep released a new cuticle oil/serum: Julep Mighty Nail and Cuticle Serum ($28 regularly; $22.40 for Maven subscribers). I have been using regular Argan oil on my cuticles, so I was kind of in the market for a new product. My cuticles really dry out during the wintertime, and I still haven’t totally kicked my cuticle-biting habit, so I really needed a multi-tasking product specifically formulated to whip my cuticles back into shape.

Julep’s new nail and cuticle serum promises to transform dry and damaged cuticles “almost overnight” and deliver “stronger, smoother nails with fewer ridges, less splitting and brittleness in just 2-3 weeks.” I have only used this serum once since I received it last week, but I already notice a difference: my cuticles look and feel a LOT softer and smoother.

I know I’m not the only one to notice such a big difference overnight — many reviewers on Julep.com said pretty much the same thing. I am really looking forward to using this serum more over the next few weeks and hopefully seeing a big difference in the overall appearance of both my cuticles and my nails.

Julep Maven March 2017 Review. Subscription box review. Photo copyright 2017 Sugarglow Blog: makeup, beauty, outfits, style, fashion, DIY, planning and more. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

Julep Nail Color in “Lara” (top) and “Jyliana” (bottom)

I had enough points (Jules) saved up to receive a free Maven box this month, so I decided to go with the basic box instead of getting a bunch of add-ons, and I was really happy because I didn’t have to pay a penny. The regular boxes usually include one beauty product and two new nail colors, and then you can add-on as many products as you’d like after that for a cheaper price. If you add-on three or more items, Julep will throw in a free gift (or gifts).

Julep’s Jules rewards program is pretty awesome, and it’s extremely easy to save up points just by taking your Maven box each month. I think I skipped maybe one box over the last 12 months and I’m pretty sure that this is the second free box I received this year. I also made one or two small orders on Julep.com outside of the monthly Maven box, so that helped in accumulating Jules (rewards points), but it’s still very easy to save up points towards a free box even when you’re not placing extra orders.

Julep Nail Color in Jyliana review and photos. Julep Maven March 2017 Review. Subscription box review. Photo copyright 2017 Sugarglow Blog: makeup, beauty, outfits, style, fashion, DIY, planning and more. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

Julep Nail Color in “Jyliana”, $14 ($11.20 Maven price)

Julep’s March nail collection was themed around “soft, serene shades.” I decided to go with a pretty, glossy teal hue, and a full-coverage, soft lilac shimmer.

Julep Nail Color in Jyliana ($14 regularly; $11.20 for Maven subscribers) is described as a “Smoky Jade Crème.” It is a full-coverage shade that goes on smooth and stays put, formulated with Julep’s 5-Free Oxygen technology. Julep’s nail colors also include strengthening Hexanal and antioxidant green coffee extract for healthier nails.

Julep Nail Color in Lara review and photos. Julep Maven March 2017 Review. Subscription box review. Photo copyright 2017 Sugarglow Blog: makeup, beauty, outfits, style, fashion, DIY, planning and more. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

Julep Nail Color in “Lara” ($14 regularly, $11.20 for Maven subscribers)

Julep Nail Color in Lara ($14 regularly; $11.20 for Maven subscribers) is described as a “shell pink with gold shimmer.” I think this color is a little more on the lilac side than pink, but either way it’s really gorgeous and very unlike any color I already own. This shade looks very light and sheer-like in the bottle, so I was pleasantly surprised to find that it is, in fact, a full-coverage shade. A perfect nail color to call in the beginning of spring!

 

www.sugarglowbeauty.com

 

 

Julep Maven is a customizable nail and beauty subscription box that starts at $24.99 per month or $19.99 per month with a three-month prepaid subscription. There are options to add-on more products each month for a higher cost. To subscribe click here, or head over to Julep.com for more information.

 

Photo copyright 2014 Sugarglow Blog: Makeup, skincare, hair products, reviews, subscription boxes, DIY, fashion and more. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

Let’s connect! You can find me on Bloglovin‘, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest. Thank you for visiting!

 

Birchbox March 2015 Review

Birchbox March 2015 Review and photos. Photo copyright 2015: Sugarglow makeup, beauty, lifestyle, fashion, diy, etc. blog. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

What’s inside my March 2015 Birchbox …

Birchbox was the first subscription box I ever subscribed to and I have been receiving Birchboxes for a few years now (I think about three years). It’s one of the cheapest subscription boxes at just $10 per month, so I really think that it’s worth it even if I don’t love every single product every single month. I do find a lot of great products and brands through Birchbox that I probably wouldn’t know about if I wasn’t a subscriber, so that’s what really stands out the most for me when it comes to this particular beauty subscription.

Continue reading

Chicky Quicky Box March 2015 Review

Chicky Quicky Box March 2015 Review. Photo copyright 2015: Sugarglow makeup, beauty, lifestyle, fashion, diy, etc. blog. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

Chicky Quicky — March 2015

Last month was my first month of receiving the new Chicky Quicky subscription box and I really loved it! I think this month’s box was even better so I am going to stand by the statement I made in last month’s Chicky Quicky post that this is definitely my new favorite subscription box. This month’s box was awesome I’m so happy with it!

Continue reading

Julep Maven March 2015 Review + Photos: “The POP! Collection”

Julep Maven March 2015 Review + Photos: "The POP! Collection". Photo copyright 2015: Sugarglow makeup, beauty, lifestyle, fashion, diy, etc. blog. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

Julep Maven — March 2015

I was super excited about the Julep Maven collection for March and I couldn’t wait for the box to arrive! This month Julep debuted “The POP! Collection”, its first new collection for spring that included pretty new pastels with a “retro vibe,” Julep’s new “soft focus” semi-matte finish, a new hydrating lipstick formula and Julep’s newest Fluid Eye Glider eyeliner pen.

Julep is a customizable nail and beauty subscription so each month you can choose what goes into your box. There were three base products this month and then you can pick a number of other items to add-on to your box. I chose three add-ons this month and when you choose three or more you get a free gift!

Continue reading

Julep Maven December 2014 Review + Photos: The Countdown Collection

Julep Maven December 2014 Review + Photos: The Countdown Collection. Photo copyright 2014: Sugarglow makeup, beauty, lifestyle, fashion, diy, etc. blog. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

Julep Maven December 2014 — The Countdown Collection

This month Julep debuted “The Countdown Collection” for their December Maven box, which included nine new holiday-inspired nail hues and six eyeshadows in Julep’s newest eyeshadow formula.

Continue reading

Hello Fresh Review + Photos: Weekly Food Subscription Box with Fresh Ingredients to Make Your Own Meals

Hello Fresh Review + Photos: Weekly Food Subscription Box with Fresh Ingredients to Make Your Own Meals. Photo copyright 2014: Sugarglow makeup, beauty, lifestyle, fashion, diy, etc. blog. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

Hello Fresh — November 2014: Week 45

I received a $40-off coupon in my October Pop Sugar Must Have box to try out a pretty cool-looking food subscription service called Hello Fresh. Since I am addicted to subscription boxes I naturally jumped on the opportunity to try it out. I also thought it was pretty unique, and definitely unique to me personally because I’m not currently subscribed to any food subscription boxes. I figured there was no harm in trying it out and the $40-off coupon made it cheap enough that I wouldn’t care about the money lost if I ended up hating it (I spent $29 total).

Continue reading

Glossybox November 2014 Review + Photos

Glossybox November 2014 Review + Photos. Photo copyright 2014: Sugarglow makeup, beauty, lifestyle, fashion, diy, etc. blog. www.sugarglowbeauty.com.

Glossybox — November 2014

Glossybox is one of my favorite beauty subscription services. They feature more “high-end” prestige makeup and beauty brands and, since they first started in the UK, they send out a lot of products from the UK and other European brands (which I LOVE).

Continue reading